

PUBLIC MEETING

March 5, 2019 MINUTES

The Lewis and Clark County Commissioners Public Meeting was held on Tuesday, March 5, 2019, at 9:00 AM in Commission Chambers Room 330.

Roll Call

Chairman Jim McCormick called the meeting to order at 9 a.m.

Commissioner Susan Good Geise was present. Commissioner Andy Hunthausen was out of the office. Others attending all or a portion of the meeting included Roger Baltz, Nicho Hash, Peter Italiano, Audrey McCue, Christal Ness, Kevin Wright, and Nadine McCarty, Recording Secretary.

Pledge of Allegiance

Everyone recited the pledge.

Consent Action Items

There were no consent action items.

<u>Right-of-Way Agreement Between Lewis and Clark County and the Montana Department</u> of Transportation. (Christal Ness)

Christal Ness, Development Services Supervisor, presented the Right-of-Way Agreement with the Montana Department of Transportation (MDT) to upgrade the sidewalks and signals to be ADA compliant at the southwest corner of the intersection of Helena Avenue, North Montana, and Lyndale Avenue, known as Malfunction Junction. Lewis and Clark County owns a small amount of land at the location, comprised of two separate parcels. The request from MDT is to purchase the northern one foot of both parcels and to have permit cover the next 2 feet in the southerly direction of both for the upgrades. The parcel is currently undeveloped except for an existing billboard. Public comment was not solicited, nor was any received. Staff recommends approval of the Right-of-Way Agreement with the Montana Department of Transportation.

Commissioner Good Geise asked if any long range plans are known for the intersection and Ms. Ness was not aware of any long range plans for the intersection.

Commissioner McCormick asked how it happened that Lewis and Clark County has ownership of the small parcel. Ms. Ness noted the parcel is .03 acres, she is not aware of how ownership came to be.

No public comment was received.

A motion to Approve was made by Commissioner Good Geise and seconded by Commissioner McCormick. The motion Passed on a 2-0 vote.

Board Appointment. (Audrey McCue)

Audrey McCue, Elections Supervisor, presented the board appointments for the West Canyon Ferry Water/Sewer District and recommended the appointment of Nikki DeWolf and Aaron Helfert to the West Canyon Ferry Water/Sewer District Board of Directors. The regular May 2018 election for the West Canyon Ferry Water/Sewer District was canceled because no one filed for the two open positions. The District was notified that the two positions remained open from 2018. Ms. DeWolf submitted an oath of her eligibility and the elections office confirmed that she is qualified to serve on the Board of Directors. Mr. Helfert held a position on the Board of Directors that expired in 2018 and agreed to be appointed to another term. The board is requesting his appointment to the remaining open position.

Per 13-1-502, MCA, if an election has been canceled and there are no regular or declared write-in candidates for a position, the governing body of the local government, or, if appropriate, of the conservation district shall fill the position by appointment. Staff recommends appointment of Nikki DeWolf and Aaron Helfert to the West Canyon Ferry Water/Sewer District Board of Directors. Their terms will end when successors are elected or appointed at the May 2022 regular election.

No public comment was received.

A motion to Approve was made by Commissioner Good Geise and seconded by Commissioner McCormick. The motion Passed on a 2-0 vote.

Board Appointment (Audrey McCue)

Commissioner McCormick stated the board appointment for the Treasure State Acres Water/Sewer District was incorrectly posted on the agenda and would not be heard.

Public comment on any public matter within the jurisdiction of the Commission that is not on the agenda above.

Adjourn

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 9:13 am.

LEWIS AND CLARK COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

McCormick, Cheir

Susan Good Geise, Vice Chair

Andy Hunthausen, Member

ATTES

Paulette DeHart, Clerk of the Board